Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Newbie Question #425329 10/28/12 08:05 AM
B
birdmaster Offline OP
OP Offline
B
Hi I'm pretty new to owning parakeets. I have two parakeets and one of them is pretty timid and the other is very adventurous. Both of them however are extremely hard to get out of the cage. I try training them with food and treats but nothing seems to work. They completely avoid stepping up onto my finger when I want to get them out. Do any of you have any suggestions?

Re: Newbie Question [Re: birdmaster] #425330 10/28/12 11:41 AM
tessboss Offline
Long Time Friend
Long Time Friend
Have you read Lisa's tips for training? Also, read the threads on budgie training? Start reading through the threads and I know all your questions will be answered.

Re: Newbie Question [Re: birdmaster] #425333 10/28/12 02:29 PM
**mattie** Offline
Long Time Friend
Long Time Friend

Re: Newbie Question [Re: birdmaster] #425335 10/28/12 04:19 PM
I
illusive Fantasy Offline
Platinum Star Soulmate
Platinum Star Soulmate
I
its best to let the birds come out on their own as opposed to trying to get them to come out ...once fully trained at least with perch training as you will at some point need to retrieve them with a perch...to return them to the cage

on their first outtings expect a few crash and burns as they fly into something and then fall ..do not rush to them at this time just let them be as rushing to them will only further frighten them...they do survive the first couple of bangs and falls then get to learn how to navigate thru the house and land more safely...remember this will be their first times using their wings and LEARNING to actually fly...