Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
I have two new babies, Barney and Clover. #423225 04/01/12 03:23 PM
P
pinkeynurse Offline OP
OP Offline
P
:)My two little babies are just beautiful.Proud owner for only one week. Pet store said it would be weeks before they would trust me. Both parakeets aready know the word treat means I am slowly bringing my hand into the cage with pellet sprays and they eat it while I am holding it. I read several books and watched mult videos on line. I would be grateful for any suggestions that you learned in raising your parakeets. Trial by Error

Re: I have two new babies, Barney and Clover. [Re: pinkeynurse] #423226 04/01/12 03:36 PM
P
pinkeynurse Offline OP
OP Offline
P
Opps meant to say they ate "spray millet" from my hand...So sorry, I am a newbie with parakeets. I did buy two because I work all days and wanted them not to be loney..In the morning when I say "See you later" they are quiet, but They both get excited when I come home in the evening..I start talking to them as soon as I walk through the front dor. I am loving being a new parakeet mommy smile

Re: I have two new babies, Barney and Clover. [Re: pinkeynurse] #423228 04/01/12 07:21 PM
I
illusive Fantasy Offline
Platinum Star Soulmate
Platinum Star Soulmate
I
welcome aboard

yes it will be weeks especially if they are in the same cage as virtually training which takes a lot of time is held up for quite awhile before any success comes if they are in the same cage .. and wings clips leads to some pretty high hopes as when they have wings clipped they have not much of a choice but to perch...

keets dont get lonely if in large enough cages with plenty of toys but no mirrors please or toys that can be picked apart or shreddie as they are called toys...with mirrors they will bond with the bird in the mirror making now even harder to train...

leaving a radio on with lots of toys your bird will never get lonely if even only one is owned...