Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Looking for Advice on Wine Purchase #358369 12/12/11 10:28 PM
J
JSAT73 Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Hello – I am a novice trying to buy an anniversary gift for a wine lover. I am thinking about purchasing a bottle of wine from the same year of his anniversary (25 years ago this coming Jan, so 1987). Thought maybe Bordeaux.

Looking for suggestions on a reputable place to purchase the wine and/or if a Bordeaux is the right choice for that age. Open to ideas.

Thank you

Re: Looking for Advice on Wine Purchase [Re: JSAT73] #358373 12/15/11 11:08 PM
Lisa Shea Offline
Silver Star Soulmate
Silver Star Soulmate
Dear JSAT73 -

Welcome, it's nice to have you in our forums!

The thing is that wine is meant to be consumed smile So for example let's say you bought a Cheddar cheese for a cheese lover and it turns out he hates cheddar and loves brie. Your gift would not be appreciated.

I'd find out what this person loves, rather than guessing. Otherwise you could spend a lot of money on a flavor he or she is simply not fond of.

Or how about a gift certificate to a restaurant with a fantastic wine list? That way they can spend it on wine and still choose their own meal ...

Lisa Shea, owner
WineIntro.com
Re: Looking for Advice on Wine Purchase [Re: JSAT73] #358379 12/19/11 10:29 AM
kevin10 Offline
Yes and that's more important to know the likes of that person regarding wine as he is the person who will have that gift from you.It's not like what you have thought as gift for your friend is good enough or not, what he likes is more important.

Re: Looking for Advice on Wine Purchase [Re: JSAT73] #358380 12/20/11 09:30 PM
B
Brom Offline
Good Friend
Good Friend
B
While I have some agreement with the general principle espoused by Lisa and kevin10, I think, in the case of someone described as a mature "wine lover" (married 25 years gotta be somewhat mature), buying a premium wine could be a fairly safe bet.