Lisa Shea

Q-Tip has a baby

Posted By: Vincent

Q-Tip has a baby - 02/12/09 06:21 PM

Yep, one of the eggs hatched today! but I'm not celebrating yet because I'm very concerned....

Blueboy went into the nest box and seemed to be going after the baby. He has NEVER gone in there before, and it didn't look like he was there to help frown

Do the males ever try to kill the babies for some reason? If I keep him away, how will he feed Q-Tip as usual?! He and Q-Tip pecked at each other a bit and then he exited but left a big mess in there and now I can see the baby is under some twigs while Q-Tip is sitting on the remaining eggs. I hope she feeds the baby soon, I'm getting concerned... but it's definitely alive, kicking its little legs...

Posted By: ___JA

Re: Q-Tip has a baby - 02/12/09 07:54 PM

I'm not an expert at all, but I do know you may have to separate them if trouble arises, or you may need to handfeed the baby if neither parents feed it. Keep a close look out on them!
Posted By: kksuns

Re: Q-Tip has a baby - 02/12/09 11:47 PM

**BUMP
Sorry I don't have experience with babies either frown Do you have separate cage ready in case you do have to separate them?
How are things goin with baby and parents now?

Re: Q-Tip has a baby - 02/13/09 12:00 AM

Blueboy has been in the box for a while and has been feeding Q-tip and the baby too, so I'm optimistic he's just trying to help. A friend came to watch too and thinks he's clumsily helping. If he wanted to kill the baby he could have already.... but he's not very careful and keeps stepping on it.... so, I'm still very concerned and am watching as much as possible. I do have another cage that I could use to separate them, but Q-Tip is depending on him for food, so I'm just gonna let them be and hope for the best.

what does **BUMP mean?

Re: Q-Tip has a baby - 02/13/09 12:09 AM

BUMP means Bump Up My Post. It is just a term used to bring your post up to the top of the page.

Re: Q-Tip has a baby - 02/13/09 12:21 AM