Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
NY Avian Law #324885 09/06/08 10:41 PM
H
Hikari Offline OP
OP Offline
H
I have been doing some research and I have come across an interesting question concerning the law and Avian Vets. From the help of my uncle, who is a lawyer in VA, he has made me question:

Is it NY State law that says that vets must take emergency cases? I know it is true for people who are sick, but pets are usually considered property (at least in VA, as my uncle has let me know).

Re: NY Avian Law [Re: Hikari] #325345 09/08/08 03:42 PM
F
Faith says hi Offline
Best Friend
Best Friend
F
I haven't been able to find any laws on this. I'm not a lawyer though - but still, I was not able to find such a requirement. However you might be able to report them for cruelty to animals under Article 26 of the state code. The definition of torture includes allowing an animal to suffer unnecessarily, and torturing animals is prohibited.
Look under Agriculture & Markets, Article 26 (Animals).
http://public.leginfo.state.ny.us/menugetf.cgi?COMMONQUERY=LAWS

I would certainly report these events to the state veterinary board. And possibly the better business bureau.

It's one thing if they don't have the expertise to treat birds and say so, but quite another if they imply that they know how to treat birds and then tell you that they won't see your sick bird for at least a month. Anyone competent to treat birds would have known the situation was urgent. Anyone with a heart, if unable to treat your bird, would have tried to help you find another vet who was able to.

Re: NY Avian Law [Re: Faith says hi] #325423 09/08/08 07:59 PM
*helwa
Unregistered
*helwa
Unregistered
it isnt a law, however it is part of the vet code of ethics. so in the states where it isnt a law, then the code of ethics comes to play and a complaint could result in the vet losing his lisence in that state.