Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
HELP #428085 04/12/14 08:17 PM
L
LadyV Offline OP
OP Offline
L
I had three keets. They were rescue babies. I have had them for seven years.One passed a few weeks ago and I was heartbroken, now another one is putting his head backwards till it is almost on his little back, when it's not like this, he is bobbing his head back and forth NOT side to side....very unnatural. I feel horrible as I live in a tiny little town, no vet to have him euthanized till Monday. I can't stand to see him suffer like this. Has anyone seen this before? A stroke maybe?

Re: HELP [Re: LadyV] #428086 04/12/14 10:01 PM
Jacquie Offline
Companion
Companion
I'm not a keet expert. But they do lay their heads around on their back to sleep sometimes, it rests their neck. Is it tucked under the wing? While he's bobbing his head, is he breathing hard? Is his tail bobbing too? What did the other keet pass away from?
I know that parakeets will hide any illness for as long as they can. You all ready know it would be best to get them to a vet, but if you can't you can't- I've been there myself.
I hope the best for you. It's so hard when you don't know if/what is the matter. I'm sorry I don't have an answer for you, but I'm hoping the very best for you and your kid.

Last edited by Jacquie; 04/12/14 10:17 PM.
Re: HELP [Re: LadyV] #428087 04/12/14 10:46 PM
Jacquie Offline
Companion
Companion
Oh, and just one more thing- please don't give up on your little guy too quick! It's one thing to know that these things do happen- I've lost so many of my best friends ( human and pet buddies/family) and it can be easy to assume the worst. But if you can get them to the vet maybe it's not as bad as you think. And the best advice anyone can give you here is to get him to the vet as soon as you can.

Re: HELP [Re: LadyV] #428088 04/12/14 11:44 PM
L
LadyV Offline OP
OP Offline
L