Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Help Plz! #426280 04/16/13 04:51 PM
T
Tigersmommy Offline OP
OP Offline
T
I Am new to having a parakeet again. I had 2 of them when i was a teen. I loved them. I have done all the research before hand. So this is my problem. My new little bird which we got from the pet store. We are not able to gain his/her trust. I have tried everything the books said giving her a few days until she starts to play with her toys and eat and move around. Done that was with in the 1st day. I gave her 3 days for this the i started to put my had in her cage after 3 days she use me as a perch and clean her self. then after a few days i would take her out but she trys to get away flying. Her wings are clipped so I am scared she is going to hurt her self. What else can we try that is safe. Please help

thanks

Re: Help Plz! [Re: Tigersmommy] #426281 04/16/13 05:11 PM
tessboss Offline
Long Time Friend
Long Time Friend
Relax, it sounds like things are actually going well. Many pet store birds never go near their owners and are not able to ever acclimate.

You are moving to fast. It has to be on the birds time not yours. The fact that your bird hops on your hand and grooms is excellent.

All stores clip wings and you will find most of the people on this site do not. It is instinct to fly for a bird. I recommend that you take your bird out in a very safe room. I used to place the cage on the living room floor and get Bob out so he could fly around near the floor and get back in his cage when he wanted to. When wings are clipped they find it hard to get any height and usually land pretty quickly.

You may want to continue to let the bird rest on your hand and groom for a while while you build on that before letting him/her out if you are scared to do that right now.

Relax, you are doing fine. And welcome to the forum

Re: Help Plz! [Re: Tigersmommy] #426292 04/19/13 06:54 AM
Lane Lester Offline
Companion
Companion