Unregistered
i said 8 weeks.

Re: Best mode of punishment? [Re: ] #358562 03/29/09 09:03 PM
_
___JA Offline
Long Time Friend
Long Time Friend
_
I don't like to use the word punishment. We all should know that punishing a pet doesn't get you anywhere. The best way to get your pet to know what is OK and what is not is with discipline. Of course, I'm no expert, so I have no idea about what experts think works best. But whenever my cats would misbehave(the cat I have now is very laid back and never does anything wrong lol... well except when he washes his hands in the toilet after taking a doo doo lol BIG MESS!) I would spray them with a water bottle. I suppose that is punishment in a way, but I find that too harsh a word, and I know in the dog world there is a big difference between it and discipline. Not sure about cats... But, yeah, the water bottle seems to do the trick best from what I've tried. My cats would learn after 1-10 sprays that it wasn't ok and stopped, except to do it every once in a while. :P
Some people suggest blowing in their face, but I find that simply mean and asking for a swat in the face.

Re: Best mode of punishment? [Re: ___JA] #358716 03/30/09 04:48 PM
Niki Offline OP
Best Friend
OP Offline
Best Friend
I agree with you Helwa with the kitten thing. Which is why I don't punish her much at all unless she bites *too* hard. Then I just respond with a sharp NO. Or a bop on the nose. In that case, I'm not doing anything different then a fellow cat would.

When we raised kittens, it was amazingly different because they had others kittens to play with. They learned from their parents to claw scratch boards only, to use the litter box, to not bite people, etc etc. This one just has her human mommy and daddy so we're her play mate it seems.