Next Thread
Print Thread
Teana - 'Two Eggs on Cage Floor' - Advice Needed #353959 02/26/09 07:58 PM
PDM Offline OP
True Blue Soulmate
OP Offline
True Blue Soulmate
Originally Posted By: Teana
On the 12 of Feb. my husband found 2 eggs in my birds cage. They were on the floor of the cage as there was no nesting box attached. Both were broken. I have 3 birds and I'm not sure who produced the eggs. I know I have 1 male for sure but the other 2 I can't tell. I put a nesting box on the cage. Will the hen lay more eggs or is that it?
Can anyone help? I'm new at this!

"The secret of success is constancy to purpose" - Benjamin Disraeli.
Re: Teana - 'Two Eggs on Cage Floor' - Advice Needed [Re: PDM] #353962 02/26/09 08:30 PM
G
GrammyinNY Offline
G
Hello Teana, I've never had a female bird but thought you
might like to know what I looked up in a book called Bird Owner's
Home Health and Care Handbook written by Gary Gallerstein, D.V.M.
He states that a nesting box should be mounted high up on the outside of the cage and that it should be kept as dry and dark as posible. Also, depending on the species, a hen will lay
from one to eight eggs, usually a day apart. Hope this helps
somewhat but breeding and raising chicks sounds very complicated.
Maybe you could get more detailed info from a book at your local
library.

GrammyinNY
Re: Teana - 'Two Eggs on Cage Floor' - Advice Needed [Re: GrammyinNY] #353966 02/26/09 08:45 PM
N
NanaT Offline
Companion
Companion
N
Thanks for the help. I wasn't sure if she would lay more eggs or if they only lay once. Does your book say anything about that?

"The more you like yourself, the less you are like anyone else. That makes you unique!"
"Walt Disney"
Re: Teana - 'Two Eggs on Cage Floor' - Advice Needed [Re: NanaT] #353971 02/26/09 09:03 PM
G
GrammyinNY Offline
G
Yes, it says that budgies breed easily in captivity and that
the presence of a nesting box will promote breeding behavior.