Page 1 of 2 1 2
I'm Having a Quarter Life Crisis!! #300723 06/12/08 04:59 PM
L
LoRaXspeek4keets Offline OP
Soulmate
OP Offline
Soulmate
L
Ok so it all started like a month ago when I turned 20. My teenage years (which seemed to drag on forever) are over. I feel old and unaccomplished. If my life were a movie, it would be one of those artsy films with lots of classical music and sparse dialog.

I suppose I am a published writer (my career path of choice), but not in any publication that I can really be proud of. I've had some minimal internet publishing, as well as small, school-affiliated literary publications.

Also, it's becoming clearer and clearer to me that I am going to spend the rest of my natural life in debt. I have all these loans for college, and that's with the help of my parents. But grad school (which I don't want to go through, but it looks like I have to) is going to be completely on me, and I don't know how I'm ever going to afford that.

One of my passions is traveling, but I can never seem to scrape up enough money to go anywhere. I've been alive for 20 years and I've only ever been to Canada, Jamaica (when I was a baby, so I don't even remember it), and Mexico....oh yeah, and the South...

And then a couple of weeks ago, I got into this car accident. I hit a deer. (rip deer). I was alright and everything, but if I had just been even slightly out of position, of had I reacted slightly differently, I could be dead. I totaled the car.

So that got me to thinking; at the very best, and if I'm really really lucky, I only have another 60-70 years to live. That's not really a lot of time. How on earth am I going to accomplish all the things I want to accomplish in such a short period of time??

And that's even if I live that long. I mean, you never know what's going to happen. And then--what's the point? Let's say I've done everything I ever wanted to do...so what? I'm still going to die. It's awful. It makes no sense. What is the point?