Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Training is working...but kinda not... #253802 02/08/08 01:20 AM
Clairakeet Offline OP
Long Time Friend
OP Offline
Long Time Friend
Ok, so I have re-trained Morpheus to give kisses, and I reward him with a bite of Millet. Once he started doing kisses consistantly, I started training him to flap his wings. So today I get home and pull him out to work with him, and he's doing kisses, he's doing wings, but he will just keep on flapping his wings thinking that I will give him millet just for flapping. He's missing the part about doing it on command!

Am I doing something wrong?

Re: Training is working...but kinda not... [Re: Clairakeet] #254238 02/09/08 06:32 AM
J
JunJun Offline
Great Friend
Great Friend
J
how did u teach him to flap? please share i want to teach that too.

Re: Training is working...but kinda not... [Re: JunJun] #254545 02/10/08 02:46 AM
Clairakeet Offline OP
Long Time Friend
OP Offline
Long Time Friend
I put him on my finger, and whenever I said "wings", I would sorta shake my finger up and down a little until he flapped. Then I fed him millet. I chose the word "Wings" because I thought it could easily be used in a sentence, like "Show me your wings!" or "Where are Morpheus's wings?". Because I don't want their tricks to be just a one word command and then they do something. I want it to be like me and the birdie are having a conversation or something. You know?

Anyways, at this point, he still thinks that any time he flaps his wings, weather I say the word or not, that he'll get millet. He also won't do wings if he's sitting anywhere else other than my finger. But we're working on it. We've only been doing it a few days smile

So after doing it a bunch with wiggling my finger, I would try it every couple of time without wiggling my finger. Eventually he started doing it just from the word. But he still needs a finger wiggle every now and again...especially when he's distracted.

So that's how. smile