Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Help My Parakeets will NOT drink #139848 10/22/05 05:35 AM
M
Moon2Goddess3 Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I have two parakeets one is male the other is albino and has never been determined although we belive to be a female. I measure the amount of water they recieve and change it every morning and measure how much I take out. It is always exactly the same. After noticing this for 4 days I set up my web cam on them and left it on all night and all day for 2 days they never ever moved to it. I have had them for almost a year now and they are happy, chattery, playful birds, both have clean feathers bright eyes and love play but they just wont drink.

Re: Help My Parakeets will NOT drink #139849 10/22/05 04:46 PM
Enchanting Offline
Companion
Companion
Has this only just started? I'm not really good with health and medical issues, but I have been at home all day and neither of my birds have drank from their water bowl. I think they are just not thirsty creatures. Have you tried a bowl etc? If they have been like this for nearly a year and they seem ok... plus they have tiny mouths. How do they get water now seeing as you can measure it so accurately?

Phoenix and Sky - Born February 2007/Adopted 03.04.07
Re: Help My Parakeets will NOT drink #139850 10/22/05 05:35 PM
M
Madison Offline
Long Time Friend
Long Time Friend
M
If they weren't drinking at all, they'd be dead or very, very sick by now. Really. Unless you have a really expensive graduated cylinder, you aren't gonna be able to measure what they drink. Even if you're transferring the water from the dish into a grad. cyl., you still wouldn't be able to get an accurate measurement due to the water lost in transfer. If they really haven't been driking for two days, you ahould take them into a vet immediately.

-------
"The most beautiful arrangement is a pile of things poured out a random."
-Heraclitus

http://www.livejournal.com/users/metricula
http://www4.ncsu.edu/~mmrobert/files.html